Archive for May 22nd, 2009

Networking, part 1: Two methods that work

 

   


How many ways can you attract new customers?

 

 

 

How many ways can you attract new customers to your business?

 

 

 

“Your business will always thrive while you produce your two most essential products:
Happy customers and
NEW customers.”

 

I will talk frequently about happy customers, but today is about your new customer. Today is about one creative, energizing way you can bring high-value prospects into your broader scope of marketing funnels–and then, ultimately, into your carefully profitable fold of relational clients or lifelong customers.

Today is about networking.

On Wednesday, I drove into Denver for a solid day packed with networking focus…

Early that morning, I dropped Allegra (my car, a spiffy black 2007 Volkswagen Jetta) at the dealer to fix the A/C. Turns out the whole darn system had failed and they swapped it for new. Meanwhile, they put me in a loaner and got me moving. All in all, the folks at McDonald Volkswagen treated me–as they do every time I’m in for routine service–like the business gold I virtually am. That makes me a very Happy Customer.

Pardon the shameless plug. Back on topic:

 

Ken and Cathy both recommend the Cuban Sandwich!

Ken and Cathy both recommend the Cuban Sandwich at Buenos Aires Pizzeria!

I made it downtown for my networking “power lunch.” My favorite kind of networking, I call it Power Networking: get uninterrupted time with one contact. In this case, I got over an hour of solid face-to-face with Cathy Harris, Business Development Consultant for Allegra Print & Imaging in Wheat Ridge.

Cathy was out hand-delivering materials to a client (who ought to be a Happy Customer), and we grabbed a table at Buenos Aires Pizzeria on 22nd Street. Shameless plug number two: this place is great, if the Cuban sandwich we both tried–and loved–was any clue. Trust me, I know that sandwich.

The time flew. We were swapping marketing stories and ideas non-stop when we both had to leave. It was several blocks back to our cars, so I got a chance to quiz her about her “side gig,” blogging (about our favorite topic) as the Denver Marketing Examiner

CathyHarris-KG

“I actually got this opportunity as a referral from a networking contact!” she said. “Honestly, the effort to keep up is a challenge, but it’s pay-per-click so I manage to pocket a little money. Overall, being an Examiner helps me introduce the Denver business community to some great local entrepreneurs I’ve met–and champion all the marketing ideas I believe in. Plus, let’s face it, this blog is a nice extra to showcase in my portfolio!”

 

I’d call that another great example of networking. Call it Platform Networking: publicly share your expertise on a certain topic, to an audience who can use your help. Those who only need the pointers you freely give are fully equipped, while others who need your paid services are drawn to the expert image you present.

I did one last piece of networking, as Cathy unlocked her car. I’d just had a nice, new business card printed (just before we met, Cathy… sorry) and I gave her a handful. She’s already offered to give me a shameless plug here and there, to her print business contacts and to her Examiner readers. Seemed like perfect timing, since Cathy has  just posted a new Denver Marketing Examiner article on the power of business cards.

As I write this post, by the way, I’ve just received a very nice follow-up mail piece! Cathy sent me a gorgeous thank-you card (a product of Allegra Print & Imaging, and featuring her own photography), plus a fresh handful of business cards. Now that, people, is a cool take-away point:

Follow-up contact multiplies the total impact of any networking moment.

Cathy, you continue to rock.

I had two more networking opportunities in Denver that day. The story on those–that’s for part 2, coming on Monday.

Have a great Memorial day weekend! I’m off to Estes Park, then back here to…

Write what’s Right,

Ken

P.S. Handy Networking Tip: Save your receipts! Your business should categorize this spending into its marketing and advertising budget, or (if you are a job seeker or freelancer like me) you should be prepared to claim whatever you can in tax deductions in the following year. Can you say free cocktails?!

Today’s post on networking is brought to you by:

Denver Marketing Examiner

Denver Marketing Examiner

 

 

 

 

Buenos Aires Pizzeria

Buenos Aires Pizzeria

 

And also by:

Mention this blog, see if they give you (or me) any free stuff.

Mention this blog, just to get their attention!